079 – “Cry a While”

Episode 79″Cry a While’.””Love & Theft”.Blockhouse.Recorded March 3, 2019. https://open.spotify.com/episode/7je2kIyUjOAupQHgZR58O2?si=cyf0lZqoSnyZkyiCUaa25A Context Song Itself Does it work in 2019? The episode’s playlist  Welcome back to the playlist: Welcome for the first time: https://open.spotify.com/user/1219496309/playlist/5ENz9G1pvrFPOMJuCOaFs0?si=mGnGvs9MQASIdf5JcMDrRw Recommendations Endings

078 – “Girl From the North Country”

Episode 078″Girl From the North Country’.”Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan. Nashville Skyline.Blockhouse.Recorded February 10, 2019. https://open.spotify.com/episode/7AQgTj3yUe6vDAq0pQOFXg?si=iDbJ3MPQTTic0zcwEd4-Tg Context Song Itself Does it work in 2019? The episode’s playlist  Welcome back to the playlist: Welcome for the first time: https://open.spotify.com/user/1219496309/playlist/087Lgeo6giWWgIVYo5msTf?si=T2DUEEIgSM6Kjh4LDBSwnQ Recommendations Endings

077 – “Stack a Lee”

Episode 077.”Stack a Lee’.”World Gone Wrong.Blockhouse.Recorded February 3, 2019. https://open.spotify.com/episode/6AF8MyJJr5rUt2xeQGyuAJ?si=dZoqpA8dRBuTM4QEKUL7og Context Song Itself Does it work in 2019? The episode’s playlist  Welcome back to the playlist: Welcome for the first time: https://open.spotify.com/user/1219496309/playlist/6UvvF7IQHCkzOKpfI50iOd?si=W_mNsuQUQQuLjd6_-ETPwQ Recommendations Endings

076 – “Beyond Here Lies Nothin'”

Episode 76″Beyond Here Lies Nothin’.”Together Through Life.Blockhouse.Recorded January 27, 2019. https://open.spotify.com/episode/16EEKCSo6x3w7JzLZKha8d?si=xTVXktlpQPasyg0-PN3W7A Context Our first song from Together Through Life was released as the record’s lead single and was featured on HBO’s True Blood. It was nominated for a Grammy in Best Rock Vocal Performance. Dylan has performed the song 428 times from July 10, 2009 to June 17, 2017. Song […]

Christmas in the Heart 2018

Second Annual Christmas in the Heart SpecialChristmas In the HeartBlockhouse.December 23, 2018 https://open.spotify.com/episode/5N2jzy4tUgmAfCfTG9uRtx?si=omAjvlahScWKKvYUIqyD4Q Kelly and Daniel begin the show with a few shoutouts to Josue, Gumshoe Andy, and Sam for the kind words this year (2:30) before getting to Christmas (9:00). Below are time stamps for each song covered: “Here Comes Santa Claus” (13:00)”Do You […]

075 – “Shooting Star”

Episode 75″Shooting Star.”Oh, Mercy..Blockhouse.Recorded November 4, 2018. Context The song was recorded in New Orleans on March 14, 1989 in 8 takes with vocal redubs coming in April. Dylan notes how this song just came to him: The song came to me complete, full in the eyes like I’d … just found it. It was […]

074 – “Tombstone Blues”

Episode 74“Tombstone Blues.”Highway 61 Revisited.Blockhouse.Recorded November 4, 2018. Context (3:20) “Tombstone Blues” was Dylan’s first song recorded after “Like a Rolling Stone” and would be followed by “Desolation Row.” It was put to tape on July 29, 1965. (The entire session is available on The Bootleg Series, Volume 12: The Cutting Edge.) The song features Mike […]

073 – Señor (Tales Of Yankee Power)

Episode 73“Señor (Tales Of Yankee Power).”Street Legal.Blockhouse.Recorded October 28, 2018. Context (4:00) It was first recorded on December 26, 1977 at Rundown Studios with Dylan and Steven Soles on guitar and Rob Stoner on bass. It was recorded for Street Legal on April 26 and 28, 1978. Dylan and Soles remained with Jerry Scheff on bass, Ian Wallace […]

072 – “Isis”

Episode 72“Isis.”Desire.Blockhouse.Recorded October 28, 2018. Context (3:25) Recorded in Columbia Studios over the evening of July 30/31, 1975. Labeled “Ices” on the recording sheet. It was written by Bob Dylan with Jacques Levy. Levy, in Isis magazine,  The only reason that ‘Isis’ was chosen as the song to work together on was that we were at my […]

071 – “One of Us Must Know (Sooner or Later)”

Episode 71“One of Us Must Know (Sooner or Later).”Blonde on Blonde.Blockhouse. Recorded October 14, 2018.  Context (4:15) Recorded in Studio A in New York City on January 25, 1966 in 19 takes. It’s the only Blonde on Blonde song not recorded in Nashville and led to some confusion as to who’s playing on the song. Sean Wilentz wades […]