051 – “Soon After Midnight”

Episode 51. “Soon After Midnight.”Tempest. Bunker. Recorded March 29, 2018. Context This song was released in September 2012 with Dylan’s Tempest. It’s been played 306 times as of recording (from November 2012 to November 2017) and will surely continue.  Song Itself “Pay in Blood” was our first Tempest track and threw Kelly for a loop. While Dylan’s voice isn’t as jarring […]

050 – Highway 61 Revisited

Episode 50 Highway 61 Revisited. Bunker. Recorded March 8, 2018. Context Highway 61 Revisited was released on August 30, 1965. It was recorded over six days – June 15 and 16 with Tom Wilson, which resulted in “Like a Rolling Stone,” and July 29 to August 4 under Bob Johnston. According to Bob in Chronicles: Highway 61, the main thoroughfare […]

048 – “What Good Am I?”

Episode 48. “What Good Am I?” Oh, Mercy. Bunker. Recorded February 22, 2018. Context (4:30) The song was written in the winter of 1988 while he searched for a melody into 1989 (March 7, March 29 and April 7, 1989). In Chronicles, Dylan said the song just came to him one night when he saw a homeless man. It’s […]

041 – “Pay in Blood”

Episode 41“Pay in Blood.” Tempest. Copenhagen 2017. Bunker. Record January 4, 2018.  Context (5:00) Recorded between January and March, 2012 at Jackson Browne’s Groove Masters Studios. This our first song off Dylan’s latest album, Tempest. When the album was initially announced, rumors spread of it being the final Dylan album, as The Tempest was Shakespeare’s final play. Dylan, naturally, […]

034 – “Union Sundown”

Episode 34. “Union Sundown.” Infidels. Bunker. Week 3 of Woody Guthrie Month. October 19, 2017. Context (5:00) Definitely wouldn’t be Daniel’s choice for the first song off 1983’s Infidels but “Union Sundown” has Woody Guthrie connections (which get less obvious as the years go on). As for the song, it’s maddening to try to date this. There […]

033 – “I Shall Be Free”

Episode 33. “I Shall Be Free.” Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan. Bunker. Week 2 of Woody Guthrie Month. October 12 2017. Context “I Shall Be Free” was recorded December 6, 1962 for Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan. He played it for Broadside that December and recorded a demo for Witmark (with a new verse about Reno, a horse and a […]

031 – “If Dogs Run Free”

Episode 31. “If Dogs Run Free.” New Morning. The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10: Another Self Portrait. Bunker. September 28, 2017. Recorded on June 5, 1970 in 3 takes during the final session of what would become New Morning. Ranked #6 of Dylan’s all-time worse songs from Rolling Stone (we’ve heard #4 so far). Clinton Heylin notes: How low can […]

029 – “Seven Curses”

Episode 29. “Seven Curses” Bootleg Series, Vol. 1-3. Bootleg Series, Vol. 9. New York Town Hall 1963. Bunker. September 15  2017. Rainier “Seven Curses” was first performed live on April 12, 1963 at Town Hall. It was recorded on August 6, 1963. It did not end up on Freewheelin’ or any other record, making its appearance on the first Bootleg […]

027 – John Wesley Harding

Episode 27. John Wesley Harding. August 31, 2017. Bunker. Rainier. John Wesley Harding was recorded in 3 days, 4 sessions, in the fall of 1967 over the course of less than 9 hours. It was released on December 27, 1967. The album, despite Dylan asking Columbia not to do any press or promotion, debuted at #2 […]

024 – “Dear Landlord”

Episode 24. “Dear Landlord.” John Wesley Harding. August 10, 2017. The Bunker. Rainier. The song was recorded November 29, 1967, the final one of the main thrust of John Wesley Harding (“Down Along the Cove” and “I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight” came later). The majority of the songs on JWH were written without music, and “Dear Landlord” is no different. The song […]